Hello Seattle, I Miss You – April Free Choice

  To start this off, I would like to give credit to the piece of work that is “Come Back, New York, All Is Forgiven.” As soon as I was introduced to this incredible written work I fell in love. This was the main inspiration for what I have written, although most of what I have created does not follow the original format, or style, of poetic writing. Thank you for your work, Roger Cohen. With my whole heart, I would suggest reading the original work (https://www.nytimes.com/2020/04/10/opinion/coronavirus-new-york.html ). 

 

  Whenever I write a fictional piece, I write from the same character. She’s evolved over the years just as I have, however she has always evaded the process of being given a name. And for now on, she will remain nameless. I want to ensure that whoever reads this knows that none of this is based on a real person, or a real experience of mine. It is simply based off of my love for a culture that has disappeared with the progression of time, and my love for a place that I have never visited. My undying devotion to the music and musicians of Seattle and a time before my own may be ceaseless and repetitive, but for that, I have nothing to apologize for. It is what I love, and I will continue to focus my writing on what I know. All I can say is that I hope you give this a chance, and I truly do hope you enjoy. 

 

   My character has never lived the life I wanted her to; everything I seem to write that revolves around the young woman fails to meet my expectations. Except this piece that follows (and hopefully one more). This piece may have a sense of finality, and that was purely unintentional. However, I guess this was my brain naturally telling me that this is almost the end of the line for her. It’s time for a rebirth of focus, although the character I create after this may just be her again with a new face. And if it is, I long for her return, because I never did give her the chance to live, and grow, that she deserved.

 

And now, onto the writing:

   

                                                                  Hello Seattle, I Miss You

 

    

   I miss you, you old soul.  I miss every single thing about you. Your Pacific Northwest air no longer chills my bones. Your cluttered, filthy streets no longer trip my feet.

 

   My brain always goes back to you; your freezing cold fingers hold my hand with a constant grasp. My memory always wanders back to your rainy afternoons and sad, crying skies. I miss being sad with you. We shared our tough times and hard days. You comforted me with your cold shoulder. You made sure I wasn’t alone in a city where I could only feel lonely. 

 

 No matter how many times you ruined my hair and makeup, I still walked your streets; your streets filled with garbage and pollution. Cars going too fast, wheels screeching, and middle fingers being exchanged.

 

   I never met anyone that resided in your sea surrounded city.  I never tried to. You made me tired in a way I had never been before. Mentally exhausted and overworked, but still I love you with all my heart; my whole being. 

 

  Your hotel smelled of beer, marijuana, and failure. I don’t think there was ever anyone sober there – including me. Drunks filled the halls shouting slurred words at bypassers, and those poor, helpless elderly shoppers. But who am I to call someone a drunk? I’m no better.

 

  I miss your history; your second city hidden underground. I miss the people I’ve fallen in love with – the musicians you’ve created and coddled. I visited everywhere I thought they would’ve gone in their short youths. I understand why they all had varying degrees of serious issues. You’re not a kind soul – not even close, but your pain and suffering is seductive. You’re easy to get addicted to.

 

  You bred and fed my addictions. But all is forgiven, because I love you more than I love myself. In my brain I feel your sticky atmosphere filled with rain and a dreariness that could drain anyone of energy.  I see the needle, your most famous tourist hot spot, pointing to the sky. Just tempting me to climb to the top and heed the call of my addiction; to get high with you. To fall to the feet of the needle that has plagued my short existence for much too long. To feel the emptiness of space hundreds of feet off the ground. Because I know I will never have this feeling anywhere else. 

 

                        

                                             Seattle – I miss you, but I don’t think I ever truly left you.

 

    

 

References:

Seattle Space Needle

Pike Place Market

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

4 thoughts on “Hello Seattle, I Miss You – April Free Choice

  1. Dear Katie,

    This piece is stunning in every way, shape, and form. When I read it I absolutely fell in love with the diction, the tone and the atmosphere you created. Paragraphs and phrases flowed so well I was in absolute awe when I read them. The phrase “your cluttered, filthy streets no longer trip my feet” was my favourite segment because of the rhythm and rhyming that you included, making it sound almost poetic. I personally have never been to Seattle or ever even known much about it but this piece you wrote, in a way, painted a picture of the place in my head and I find that truly amazing. Not only does the piece give a sense of the place it is situated in but also of the character you talk about. Even though you never describe her, I get this loving and forgiving personality from the character as seen in her craving for something that’s not necessarily seen as a good thing, as you say in the phrase “but your pain and suffering is seductive”; yet another phrase I love.

    Being completely honest I don’t have many improvements for you on this piece because I truly believe it is nearly perfect. But, I do think that you could’ve written just a bit more to strengthen the imagery you already had. It would be really nice if you described the city in more detail as I felt as though there were still parts that were incomplete or missing. The imagery and atmosphere you already created is amazing, just a bit more details would make it even more realistic and engaging.

    Overall this piece is definitely one of my favourites and I hope, in the future, to read more about this incredible character that you created. I look forward to it!

    Sincerely,
    Elena

    1. Dear Elena,

      You’re too kind. It makes me incredibly happy to know that someone loves this piece as much as I do. It’s painful in a good way, and I think you’d agree with that statement. I’ve been practicing poetry, rhythm, and rhyme lately – You have no idea how happy I am that I didn’t completely fail in including that into this. The fact that you felt something from my character means the world to me. I think that you definitely guessed what her personality is like, although I know she is severely complex.

      I do agree that I could’ve written more, because I tried. But every time I would add something it just seemed wrong. Like I was altering her world. And in my opinion, the shortness adds to the somber atmosphere. Who knows though, one day there could be a part two. However, I sincerely doubt that.

      Thank you for all the lovely words, Elena. It means the world to me that you enjoy my work. I hope you stay healthy and safe. Also, I know you’ve been encouraging me to post more about my character – her final piece should be up soon. Which is terrifying, and mostly sad, but I think it’s time for her to be reborn.

      Sincerely,
      Katie

  2. Dear Katie,
    Your blog seems to have struck a cord in my heart, due to both your writing style and subject. Your character felt so alive and aware that I had to remind myself that she wasn’t a real person. having read your About Me, this post thematically consistent with it’s nostalgia and grit weaving a captivating post.
    While your work was immersive and alive, occasionally I would come across a paragraph or sentence that felt cut short or awkward at the end. I am aware that this criticism is highly personal and not subjective, it just ruined the flow at points for me. Aside from what I have already stated, there aren’t many things you could have improved in this piece, to be completely honest.
    Your preface was insightful and necessary for the impact of this post. You have proven, once again , to be an incredibly thorough writer with very well established thoughts and stories. I look forward to reading more of your works.
    Sincerely,
    Kat

    1. Dear Kat,

      Thank you for all the compliments; I’m really happy to have you here on my blog again. These are honestly some of the nicest things you could say to me. It brings me joy to know that I have a character who seems real. She always seemed real to me, as well.

      I definitely do understand your suggestions, however, I personally feel as though the abruptness and choppiness matches the character. But as you said, that’s just my opinion, and I appreciate your insight.

      Thank you again for all these wonderful comments, and for taking the time to read my post. I hope to read more of your work as well; I also hope that both you and your family, are doing well in this uncertain time.

      Sincerely,
      Katie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *